Daily Archives: February 13, 2011

Second Week of Project 52

Who knew I will complete the 2nd week of ‘Project 52’? Not me! Ahh.. the sense of achievement and satisfaction. 🙂 Theme for this week was “body parts”. While I could always shoot myself/some part of my body and say project completed, for some reason the idea didn’t excite me and I decided to look for other sources for motivation.

So, saturday afternoon, I was out photographing at UC Davis Campus for my Canon EOS group project when I realized the Eggheads can be an interesting object for the theme of “body parts”. I have walked past at least one of the Eggheads among the 7 present in the campus on everyday of my life at UC Davis and yet never took their photographs because to me, they lacked any theme (except once when there was a rumor on campus that their positions are clue to hidden treasures buried in the campus ground but lets ignore that!). So today, I went ahead and decided to shoot the Egghead sculpture just beside the arboretum.

The sculptor’s theme for this Egghead is “See No Evil/Head No Evil”. Lacking ears and with closed eyes, I decided to use the late afternoon light to shoot them in such a way that life illuminated only one side of the image. I interpret this as the way reality is: What one chooses to close their eyes to/shut their ears off to and call evil is also white and black.

Here is the image:

UC Davis EggHead(s)