Daily Archives: February 1, 2011

Project 52

I found the concept of Project 365 or Photo a Day from various photographers very interesting (e.g. here). With realistic assumptions about my capacity to find a photographic object every day, I was contend to just browse through the work of the photographers without pushing myself to venture into such a project.

However, today I learnt about Project 52, initiated by the Digital-Photography school (here) where they provide one particular theme for each week. I quickly added the ical link to my calendar only to realize that a) I will start to ignore it if I don’t keep a count of how many projects I have completed myself and more importantly b) I didn’t like the way they presented their excel track sheet. With this, I made up my own track sheet which is located with google docs here and is available to lookup by others at anytime.

Feel free to copy the sheet to track your progress. So, with new motivation, let project 52 begin. Also, I realize that I am one month behind, so I might just attempt a Project 42 instead to make this project the perfect answer to life, universe and everything, including photography!

P.S.: This will be in addition to the fortnightly projects themes I am taking part with the Canon EOS Group on Flickr. I don’t mind if they overlap occasionally ;).

Update on March 20, 2010: I don’t know why DPS came up with the name of Project 53 when the weekly photography challenge is more commonly known as Project 52. Since realizing this I am updating my blogs/photos/tags to reflect the appropriate term.